There is such a thing as healthy Nutella

9cdcde26f782edaefa52b2b01eb17cd9

To anyone who’s been in the same room as me and a breakfast buffet, you’ll probably have seen me loading my plate up with those little frustratingly small Nutella pots, and pouring them onto charred bits of toast that I’ve managed to burn in those weird bread conveyor-belts that seem to be in all hotels these days (seriously, whatever happened to toasters? I digress). My point being: I really love Nutella. So much I don’t allow myself to buy it at home, because it would last a day – but, on holiday, calories from gloriously thick chocolate spread don’t count. Obviously.

So, it was very good news when the guys at Wyldsson – purveyors of delicious  Promix fruit and nut snacks in a tube – got in touch to tell me about their new Hazelnut & Cocoa Spread – the description of which sounds very much like my beloved toast mate, except, they tell me, it’s healthy.

7ce7a8361005f58eed2276871e3f4154

I”m a bit suspicious of anything that tastes sweet and chocolatey trying to tell me that it’s healthy, but the facts behind this stuff back it up. For starters, it contains no palm oil – which has been linked to cardiovascular disease – so there’s a plus. There’s also 12.8g protein per 100g, 29g carbs, 38g fat and 528 calories. That’s compared to Nutella’s Nutritional info: per 100g it has 546 calories, 6g protein, 57.6g carbs and 31.6g fat. As you can see, while there’s not much difference in calories, Wyldsson’s spread has twice as much protein and almost half the carbs, meaning it’ll likely keep you fuller for longer, won’t be so quickly stored as fat in the body. WIN.

It also has a nice consistency – whereas Nutella is smooth and gloopy, Wyldsson’s spread is thick and chunky, ie. perfect toast slathering consistency…

1c82ec16b058a7b91a37e74a20175fed

And for a real treat, stuff a little teaspoon of it into a medjool date, then scoff. Anyone else salivating?

Leave a comment